First time at smoking fish?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

countrydirt

Original poster
May 7, 2010
I'm a returning newbie to smoking food. My best friend spent most of the summer in Alaska and has a freezer full of salmon. She threatened/offered to bring a bunch over for me to smoke. I don't have the first clue of where or how to start. I've only done brisket and pork and a few birds many years ago, but have an offset inexpensive smoker. Advice? Tips? Primers?

Don't want to disappoint my friend. She lived in Alaska for many years and loves smoked fish.

First decide if you want to cold smoke it or hot smoke it.

SmokinAl SmokinAl has an excellent smoked lox recipe.

Also, here's a link with some good info on smoking salmon:
These recipes don't include any Cure#1 though. I prefer to use cure when smoking fish added safety and flavor.

Reactions: zwiller
Hi,

I am a new member and I'm generally at best low average with my smoking. But I did work offshore in Alaska for over 10 years in the seafood industry and have cooked a lot of salmon, halibut, and spot prawns. As I used to get a lot of it comped. And sorry Alaska but think Atlantic cod is better than Pacific Cod.

So general tips that have worked out for me.

King is my favorite to smoke. They are bigger with thicker fillets and the highest in fat content. Reds second. But also note pinks and chums good when processed directly after catching. Faroe Island is the only farmed salmon I like and I don't tell any of my friends still working in Alaska that I sometimes buy it. But here in the wilds of upstate New York it's about half as much as wild salmon.