Extreme cold and windy weather questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hangmanli

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Feb 2, 2017
Long Island, NY
hey fellas,

I’m fairly new to smoking and I’ve had a Bradley digital Smoker for the the past five or six weeks.

I’ve done some somesummer sausage, Bologna, and currently trail Bologna

I started half of a 25 pound batch of trail bologna yesterday. This morning I tried to finish the rest of the trail bologna. I got an “E1” error message. After researching the error code they said it could be a plug wiring problem. All the connections seemed to be tight.

The digital display upon powering it up read 32°F. I assumed that that must have something to do with the problem. So I decided to bring the smoker inside to warm it up.

That seemed to work and I put it back outside on the covered/screened porch
And it is running now.

I realized that under extreme cold weather and windy conditions The smoker takes quite a while to get up to temperature. I know that there are modifications that can be made including a more powerful heating element. I probably will eventually do something like that.

Bradley advises leaving the top vent wide-open. But I figured with the windy conditions and cold weather that I would close it halfway. I’m not sure if that is right or wrong?

How do you fellas operate your smokers in extreme cold and windy weather conditions? Are there any special considerations or practices?

Thanks!

hey fellas,

I’m fairly new to smoking and I’ve had a Bradley digital Smoker for the the past five or six weeks.

I’ve done some somesummer sausage, Bologna, and currently trail Bologna