Cooker build ideas

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mizskeet

Original poster
May 11, 2015
I have been BBQing for several years now, I started on the Brinkman vertical and a few years ago I upgraded to a ProQ excel 20.  I have managed to overload my ProQ dozens of times and now it is time to upgrade.

A few months ago, I designed a horizontal pit using a 250-gallon propane tank with the firebox mounted on the lower rear.  The cook chamber was going to have a convection plate in it with half the calculated opening on each side and the smoke stack in the upper middle.

Then I discovered dual wall and insulated designs for the firebox and the cook chamber, not sure about the simplicity in creating an outer skin for the propane take I held off.  Is there an issue with only the firebox being dual wall and insulated but not the cook chamber?

Last night I dreamed up this design for a horizontal please tell me what you think about either design.