Converting Electric ECB to Charcoal

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Corey John

Original poster
Jun 6, 2018
West Lafayette, IN
Hey guys,

My Ol' Red electric brinky wont get up past 200 F. I just think the heating element is worn out. I have wanted a charcoal smoker for a while now, so I think I am going to convert it to charcoal. Has anybody done this or have any tips and photos?? I have found some dated threads on other websites, but would love to keep it on SMF and get some active feedback.

Thanks!!

I have no experience with electric Brinkmans, But I would imagine replacing with a new element would be pretty easy and relatively inexpensive. Then try to pick up another charcoal smoker used or otherwise.

Hey guys,

My Ol' Red electric brinky wont get up past 200 F. I just think the heating element is worn out. I have wanted a charcoal smoker for a while now, so I think I am going to convert it to charcoal. Has anybody done this or have any tips and photos?? I have found some dated threads on other websites, but would love to keep it on SMF and get some active feedback.

Thanks!!

Well, if you have the electric one that seals up on the bottom you need a couple air dampers for air intakes. You can put a rope stole gasket around the lid where it meats the body. Seals off that gap around there. RTV sealant to stick that rope gasket on with.
Need an exhaust damper on the lid.
Need a charcoal basket with 2-3 inch gap under it for an ash pan and ashes to fall.