Can someone tell me what's wrong with my 'mater?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dougmays

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Nov 18, 2010
Gainesville, FL
hey all,

i'm trying tomatoes for my first time and this guy was the first to start to ripen and it got this weird "grayish" thing on the bottom or started turning that color.  i picked and threw away make sure if it was a disease it didnt affect the others.

as you can see one of my squash has a black disease or something on the tip also....very discouraging :(

b373f155_2011-06-21_17-10-44_506.jpg

An expert will be along soon.  My guess is blossom end rot on the mater.  Your soil may need calcium.  Just a guess on my part, I am no expert.

Good luck and good smoking.

I second the blossom end rot . I grow a plant in a bucket each year and that happened to just about every one of mine last year . I did the same thing and used the same potting mix I did in previous years and didn't have that problem before last year . Basically the only difference was the type . I think the one I grew last year was called patio that was supposed to do great in a container . I read up on it a lot last year , if I remember right it doesn't jump from one tomato to another but it seemed to on my plant . I think I only got 3 tomatos that were ok and maybe 50 with that rot . As soon as I saw it starting I just picked off the bad one ( or in my case multiple bad ones ) . I'm sure someone will post some solutions for you .

OK she just got in and agrees its blossom end rot..  needs calcium (chloride solution ..."Stop" or Bayer Advance) and too much moisture.

Be careful spraying with calcium chloride and rinse the food well.

Needs mulch and low nitrogen feed.