Cabbage Growing Q...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

raselkirk

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Nov 17, 2014
Port Neches, TX
Hi All,

Not a "smoke" related Q, but I have, within the last several years, begun dabbling in gardening. This is my first attempt at cabbage! My tiny plot has 6 plants planted in mid-September from seedlings. From what I've read, they should have been ready to pick by Christmas, but they've never formed actual heads. The plants are quite large and very beautiful, yet they are mostly "just" leaves (oops - when I went to take my pic, I see 2 have heads finally forming).

Are they too crowded? Underfertiized? Can I chop them as-is and use them for Kimchi or slaw?

BTW, I'm in SETX. We've had one mild freeze back in late Nov that killed my Basil, but everything else is buzzing along pretty good. Except carrots - they have great looking, feathery tops with "baby finger" roots. Same with my 1st and only attempt at fennel a couple years ago, beautiful feathery tops and a root good only for composting.

Russ

Attachments

• 20200201_165725.jpg
    20200201_165725.jpg
    240.1 KB · Views: 32
Reactions: kruizer
What zone are you in ? Find your local county agricultural agent and discuss this with him. I am in zone 9 and I plant mine twice a year. once in July for a late winter crop and also in January for a late spring crop. Did you follow the guidelines that were given with the seeds or plants for proper spacing? The picture looks like they are to close.From past encounters when people have a small space they tend to attempt to overcrowd the available space. If you are limited on space get Mel Bartholamews book on Square foot gardening. It will help you fit things into a small area.

Reactions: DanMcG