AMNPS and Smoke Hollow 30" Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hammbone

Original poster
Jan 16, 2019
Hey everyone,

I am brand new to smoking and just bought a Smoke Hollow ES230B 30" smoker (https://www.samsclub.com/sams/smoke...MIwbOwrdjy3wIVC7bICh2O9gWlEAQYBCABEgI1HvD_BwE). It looks to be very similar to the MES30 gen 2.5. I have been trying to use the AMNPS however no matter what I do I can not keep the pellets lit. I have been putting it on the bottom rack on the right hand side and have followed all the tips I can and I get a nice red glow before placing it in the smoker. Once in the smoke it will not stay lit. I am thinking it may be an airflow problem? The main difference that I notice is the Smoke hollow to not have a side chip loader or any sort of intake valve that I can find like the MES30 has. Any ideas on what to do?

Attachments

• IMG_20190101_162730.jpg
    IMG_20190101_162730.jpg
    131.8 KB · Views: 45
Last edited:
I haven't studied on the Smoke Hollow, but if there is only one vent for outflow, it most definitely sounds like an airflow problem. Seems the issue was discussed on this forum before. You might try to do a search.

I cant find that one listed. Is the number correct? It will need airflow to get the pellets to burn properly. Can you return it?

Sorry I had the numbers mixed up and I fixed the missing link so you all can get a better idea of what I am talking about. I have tried to research these forums without any luck before posting. To add chips you have to open the door.

Both inside pictures "appear" to show the side chip loader. Can you show us an inside close up of yours?