• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

A-MAZE-N AMNPS Maze can this be used with wood chips?

Jaspreet

Newbie
21
0
Joined Nov 12, 2019
I’m thinking about to upgrade the little square tray for smoking chips in my dynaglow electric smoker to the AMNPS tray
I see some other brands saying to use wood chips and this brand saying pellets.. can i put this tray box directly on top of the electric heating element ?
A-MAZE-N AMNPS Maze Pellet Smoker, Hot or Cold Smoking, 5 x 8 Inch amazon" style="max-width:120px">
 

schlotz

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
817
214
Joined Jan 13, 2015
No, don't put it on top of the elements. Use pellets not chips. Get the pellets burning via a torch and after insuring it stays burning (5-10 min), place it in a location that has some airflow in order to allow the pellets to keep burning.
 

Steve H

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
2,342
1,260
Joined Feb 18, 2018
You can use pellets or dust. As schlotz schlotz said. Do not place on the burner. And light as he also directed.
 

Brokenhandle

Smoke Blower
92
41
Joined Nov 9, 2019
Steve just to clarify for me as I've also wondered, the amnps can burn pellets or dust but the amns is just for dust? I have the amnps and always use pellets but thought about using dust for smoking cheese.
Ryan
 

Steve H

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
2,342
1,260
Joined Feb 18, 2018
The tray can do both. Pellets or dust. The tube, to my knowledge, can only do pellets. I have the 5x8 tray. And the 6" and 12" tubes. And have only used pellets in those.
 

pushok2018

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
518
173
Joined Oct 12, 2017
The tray can do both. Pellets or dust. The tube, to my knowledge, can only do pellets.
Agreed with Steve on that: I tried wood chips with the tray twice - didn't work . Only pellets or dust with the tray and pellets only with the tube.
 

HalfSmoked

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
6,441
1,414
Joined Jun 11, 2015
Just my $.02 which was not stated if you place on top of heating element you will set the hold tray on fire not just 1 row. Which would defeat the burn time and principle of the tray.

Warren
 

Steve H

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
2,342
1,260
Joined Feb 18, 2018
Just my $.02 which was not stated if you place on top of heating element you will set the hold tray on fire not just 1 row. Which would defeat the burn time and principle of the tray.

Warren
You are correct, of course. I didn't bother to mention that because schlotz schlotz stated not to place the tray directly over the element. Doesn't hurt to be thorough though.
 

Jonok

Smoking Fanatic
535
233
Joined Feb 4, 2019
My mod (smoke generator, not tray) works with chunks (or chips if you don’t wanna set it and forget it for 12-18 hrs)
 

HalfSmoked

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
6,441
1,414
Joined Jun 11, 2015
Thanks for the like PAS it is appreciated.

Warren
 

HalfSmoked

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
6,441
1,414
Joined Jun 11, 2015
Hawging It thanks for the like it is appreciated.

Warren
 

Murray

Meat Mopper
237
87
Joined Dec 30, 2018
The tray can do both. Pellets or dust. The tube, to my knowledge, can only do pellets. I have the 5x8 tray. And the 6" and 12" tubes. And have only used pellets in those.
I have been using Bradley pucks ground to sawdust in my A-MAZE 6” Oval tube. Had a bunch of pucks given to me that I initially thought wouldn’t work in my MES. I get about 5 hours of TBS. I first tried them in the chip tray, that was a mistake, thought the fire department might show up. Lots of heavy white smoke at 225F
 

HalfSmoked

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
6,441
1,414
Joined Jun 11, 2015
Thanks for the like SecondHandSmoker it is appreciated.

Warren
 

zwiller

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,661
479
Joined Nov 16, 2016
The tray can do both. Pellets or dust. The tube, to my knowledge, can only do pellets. I have the 5x8 tray. And the 6" and 12" tubes. And have only used pellets in those.
There are a few guys running dust in the tube but I don't think it is officially supposed to do it. I think they pack it tight for it to work.
 

Steve H

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
2,342
1,260
Joined Feb 18, 2018
Murray Murray , zwiller zwiller Thanks for the info. That's something to keep in mind if I run out of pellets. Which won't happen for at least a few years. I have close to 65 pounds at the moment!
 

zwiller

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,661
479
Joined Nov 16, 2016
Myself and a few others are running dust on everything now. I have same issue with tons of pellets. I make small batches of dust with a grinder but need a better method for larger batches.
 

Murray

Meat Mopper
237
87
Joined Dec 30, 2018
Myself and a few others are running dust on everything now. I have same issue with tons of pellets. I make small batches of dust with a grinder but need a better method for larger batches.
I have an old grain grinder from my homebrew days, replace the hand crank with a 3/8" drill and grinding pellets would take no time. The grain grinder is robust enough that it will long out live me.
 

zwiller

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,661
479
Joined Nov 16, 2016
Thought about that as I have a monster mill. I wonder about putting a pound or 2 in a hop sack and dunking it and hang to dry but no hop bags here.
 

Jaspreet

Newbie
21
0
Joined Nov 12, 2019
If i use the AMNPS tray, just for ribs, what should be a good amount to only burn for 5-6 hours half way? What’s the best to use it if I’m not smoking for all them hours?
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying! (But that's how we keep the lights on.)

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks