Strong recommendation: USE A DIMMER plug for electric cold smoker attachment!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

webpoppy8

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 4, 2016
Boston North
Hi folks,

I have an MES 30 and the Masterbuilt cold smoker attachment, and I started trying something a few months ago that has worked so well I wanted to share it.

Adding a dimmer plug to the cold smoker has resolved a problem I'm sure many others have had - excessive generation of smoke from the attachment. I'm sure Masterbuilt had to tweak this to select a wattage that would generate smoke in winter as well as other times of year. Also, they need to get smoke generating fast with high power so that stupid owners like myself won't think they were ripped off. On warm Summer (or early Fall) days like today, the smoke is just too much and can be bitter.

I start the cold smoker with the dimmer on full power, and in 15 minutes when the smoke starts really going, I reduce it back. With a regular ("potentiometer") dimmer like mine, there isn't much precision, but I pull it back about halfway. I check again maybe 30 minutes later and further adjust.

Tweaking for thin blue smoke is easy and reliable and my cooks and cold smokes are better than ever before.

I'm attaching a photo of a $15 Lutron, not to endorse it but just to inform you.

Smoke on folks!

- Andrew Wolfe

Attachments

• dimmer plug.jpg
    dimmer plug.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 237
Reactions: tallbm