St. Louis ribs from Costco

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

huskyjw

Original poster
Jul 13, 2006
A few weeks back I bought 2 racks of St. Louis ribs from Costco.  I'm not a newbie at smoking meat....but far from a professional.

One rack I used the 3-2-1 method...but the other rack I decided to just leave 'em in and see what happens.

The 3-2-1 was what it always is....but I REALLY liked the ones that never touched the foil.  They had way better flavor.....the rub and spices were much more pronounced.  It even seemed "spicier" but I used the exact same rub on the two racks.  I did have two issues though. 

On both racks that ribs were really really dark....black and hard even...especially at the very ends....I just tossed the ones at the very ends though   I did use some granulated sugar and I'm wondering if that is what burned.....perhaps my thermometer is a bit off and running higher that I thought??  I tried to keep it at 250 or lower (per my thermometer)

Also....the ribs that weren't in the foil didn't bend when picked up with tongs.  They had been in for 6 hours.....should I have kept them in longer??  They still had great flavor and weren't tough at all.....in fact I liked the texture better.....they looked more "professional"  but they didn't bend like the 3-2-1 at all.

Oh....and I use a Great Outdoors Smoky Mountain Propane smoker.....for now. 

Last edited:
th_nopicsye3.gif

Yes, next time Q-view.

Here's a hint though , get some Turbinato Sugar , (Raw Sugar) , it does not burn as Refined Sugar does , but gives a nice Carmelization...and has a bit of a Molasas flavor...

Calibrate your Therm. and find the Hot spots in the Smoke Chamber. Get some more Spares and do it again... you'll see a diff.