I made some amazing St. Louis ribs yesterday

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kevin91

Original poster
Jan 22, 2024
I'm pretty new to BBQ'ing with a smoker, and I've had a few hiccups trying to get it right on my new Weber Smokey Mountain. Yesterday, I followed the "Minion Method" and tried the 3-2-1 method. After 3 hours, I wrapped the ribs in some foil with vinegar, butter, and brown sugar. 90 minutes after, they were already fall-off-the-bone tender. I'm not sure if I did it "right", as it cooked more quickly than expected, but I really liked it!

I'm pretty new to BBQ'ing with a smoker, and I've had a few hiccups trying to get it right on my new Weber Smokey Mountain. Yesterday, I followed the "Minion Method" and tried the 3-2-1 method. After 3 hours, I wrapped the ribs in some foil with vinegar, butter, and brown sugar. 90 minutes after, they were already fall-off-the-bone tender. I'm not sure if I did it "right", as it cooked more quickly than expected, but I really liked it!
I started with the 3-2-1 method. But I have switched to smoking till done. Sauce when done or for the last 30 minutes. Done is about 195 Give or take.

I don’t like cooking by time to begin with but that said, I believe the 3-2-1 method was originally made up for running 225* so if running 250-275* you really don’t need to wrap but if you do try a 3-1-1 next time,
I might! The only reason I wrapped them is because my last rib cook turned out a little dry, and I thought that the vinegar might help.

I have noticed the ambient humidity makes a difference also especially if opening and closing the lid more than absolutely needed.

Kevin, I have to say that you did it all wrong. There ain't no pictures!