Saying Thank You With BBQ

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chilerelleno

Legendary Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
I've been doing post-op physical therapy on my shoulder for almost four months, and did pre-op PT on it for a month beforehand.
The place I'm using is Renew Physical Therapy and Wellness here in Mobile, AL, and they've been simply outstanding.
Beyond just being my kind of people, boisterous, rowdy and somewhat risque, they have often just gone out of their way with small stuff, e.g. I was craving an energy drink and a few minutes later one appears next to me, they went to the nearby gas station and bought me one... Blown away I was!

So here I am nearing the end of my PT and I've done little things like bring in homemade desserts, but I wanted to go out with a 'BANG!'.
I thought about a nice gratuity for them, but decided to make it more personal and include everyone.
So today I catered a BBQ lunch, Smoked Pulled Pork, Loaded Ranch Style Beans, Tater Salad and Chips, for condiments I made my Spicy Pickled Onions, Honey BBQ sauce and Soflaquer's Finishing Sauce.
It was a hit with the staff and other patients I've made friends with!
I'm glad I got out of there before the beans took effect! :emoji_laughing:

Boneless Butts rubbed inside and out, trussed tightly for even cooking and smoked with Hickory at 275°.
The smaller butt took 10 hours and the larger went a full 12 hours.

20220615_231106.jpg
20220615_233148.jpg
20220616_151341.jpg
20220616_215737.jpg
20220616_215756.jpg

I had people drooling when the smell of everything permeated the air.