Rubs or SnP?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Its_Raw

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Nov 25, 2023
Just curious as I have no real-world experience yet... and I realize it is subjective and something that will take some experimenting to figure out for myself. With that having been said, I see Franklin and the other notables using mainly salt and pepper for their briskets, pulled pork, etc., but a lot of other Youtubers use all kinds of rubs and spices. Again, I realize this is subjective and needs some testing, but I also do not want to potentially ruin any expensive meat for the family with something that is too over the top. What are your thoughts?

Thank you!

Reactions: JLeonard
I've gone away from rubs and just use S&P now.
Just a personal thing. Many use rubs.
It's something you will have to experiment with to find what you like.

Reactions: lamar and JLeonard
Welcome. I think salt & pepper are the two essential ingredients. Some including me add onion and garlic also. A great start is buying Jeff's rub recipes from this site. He has a TX version that I just described, and Original that has some paprika, brown sugar and a few others that is great on pork, chicken and about anything else. I have used some Meat Church, Kosmos, or Malcolm Reeds and they have there place. But I go back to Jeff's most of the time. If a commercial rub starts with Salt as 1st ingredient I put it back on the shelf.

Reactions: JIMSMOKES
Depending on what I'm cooking....Steaks, brisket, and the like I just go salt and pepper. Esp when I just want the flavor of the beef to shine through. Butts and ribs I'll use a rub on them.

Jim