First Chuck Roast

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mgb engraver

Original poster
Dec 22, 2012
I am relatively new to this, basically have a gas grill and the truly A Maze N pellet smoker. It truly is amazen!

Chuck Roasts were on sale so I though I'd give it a try, a bit of salt and pepper and i was off and running!

I ran 2 rows of Oak on the pellet smoker and 250 degrees for about 3 hours... Man oh Man it came out much better than expected, I will definitely do more of these...

Now for the questions.

How long will this last in the freezer?

Any suggested rubs would be appreciated.

I'd love to make a non-bbq sauce for this, any thoughts?

Some of the things I have smoked have come out a bit to the dry side

how can I keep this moist? (gas grill at 250 and the pellet smoker)

Compare lots of smoke for a shorter time as to less smoke for longer time.

Thanks in advance!

Marty

Well Marty...it should keep for a few months but first you have to prove you did it...
33.gif

worthless.gif

th_nopicsye3.gif
  We have 
Rules.gif
 ya know....
biggrin.gif

For a sauce, I did a reduction not long ago that was pretty good.  

Cube up some thick bacon and fry it up with some shallots then add about a half cup of dry red wine and some beef stock and reduce by half.  If necessary tighten it up with a little corn starch slurry.

Good luck and get smokin'

Bill

I will try to help...remember this is all my opinion.

I have frozen cooked meat for 6 months in a zipper bag with no problems. Seems like the freezing really brings out the smoky flavor over time.