Fermenting/dry curing?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SherryT

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Dec 23, 2017
Crawford AL
Let me preface this by saying, as a sausage-making/curing newbie, I'm NOT ready to try this just yet...so there. :D

What "knowledge" I have of the process so far has mostly been gleaned from various forum posts (this forum and others I ran across while googling)...

Seasoned meat + cure + fermenting agent, ferment at X deg at X humidity for X hours/days, hang for x days at X humidity to dry...

That's a LOT of temp/humidity control...do those of you who make these sausages have some sort of "chamber" (for lack of a better word) rigged with all the gizmos necessary to control the environment to this degree OR is being THAT exact not TOTALLY necessary for sausages made at home and not for sale?

I mean, I'm a crafter and a DIY'er from WAY back and love tinkering with my toys just as much as the next person, but day-um!

I think I need more info...;););)

Reactions: Rings Я Us
You can go the chamber route, but it takes some expertise to know where to set humidity and temp.

Thanks to technology, home salami and dry cure makers can use this:
https://www.drybagsteak.com/

It's a one way permeable membrane that allows water out, but keeps most all other gasses from entering. and you can do this in a normal refrigerator.

Hopefully nepas will see this and comment.

A curing chamber is the easy year-round dry curing solution.

However there are plenty of folks who dry cure the old fashioned way. In a cool place in the house.

I dry cure meats in my "root cellar" in fall-winter-spring. If i need mold growing on the sausage i schedule these when is not too cold outside (and i use a humidifer).