Checklist for first Pulled Pork

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

CharcoalJoe

Original poster
May 5, 2019
I've got my first run planning for.

Meat : I've got a 9 pound Picnic shoulder ( I need to cut the skin off but leave some fat from what I gather )
Time : 12-14ish hour slow and low cook
Final done temp : 205 degrees?
Smoker - Weber Kettle with snake method setup with water ( already tested temps in dry run )
Equipment - I got my dual temp thermometer
Wood: I don't know what is the best wood for a shoulder as it's my first attempt. Open to suggestions, I've read Hickory, Pecan, and apple, Cherry on the net.

Food Prep
Inject or not inject? With what?
Rub - I have no idea what to use at this point. If anybody has a go to recipe I'm open.
When can I eat it - after it sets in fridge overnight, or after an hour or so wrapped after done?
Also, When done, I assume I just pull the meat apart and store, and then add bbq or other seasonings when I'm putting together a meal? does that sound about right?

Meal ideas -
Pulled pork kindof new food to me My weeks meal ideas are
* Sandwich with BBQ sauce
* PP Nachos
* Chipotle bowl style with cheese, rice, romaine, Black Beans, etc
* Tacos / taquitos or some kindof mexican food
* May try to make some tamales too ( depends how adventuresome I feel )
* Maybe baked potatoe with cheeze and pork?
* Open to suggestions if anybody has any?

I got some research to do tonight and tomorrow if anybody has some thoughts or tips, feel free to post. Also if somebody has a good start to finish recipe link online for my first go I'd be open to that too ( preferably one that you've tried and liked ).