Tips and Methods for WSM 18.5

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rvachewlover

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 26, 2016
Richmond, Va
I've been smoking out of my MES 30 for a couple years now, however, it has left me wanting. Something about tending a pit of charcoal and wood versus plugging in a mini-fridge. So I broke down and bought a WSM 18.5 that comes in at the end of the week.

Now let me say, I have next to no experience with charcoal. My dad would grill on a Weber Kettle when we went to my grandparent's river house but that's about it. I was more interested in fishing and eating then the cooking aspect.

So now I plea, what're your tips, tricks, and methods on the WSM? What's the best charcoal? How much charcoal? How long will the charcoal last? To burry the wood chunks or rest on top? Is the manufactures analog therm accurate/best therm to install? This is by no means an exhaustive list.

Thank you in advance to a great community that I was lucky to find!

Welcome! WSMs are fun for sure. most of the tutorials that will cover the mjority of your questions are here

Its a great site for WSM only. I used it for years to know how to use mine.

First congratulations! Pulled a lot of great que off my wsm over the years I had it. There is a metric ton of info and threads on them in the charcoal smoker section and since there is more than one way to smoke a cat it’s definitely worth a look. That said, here’s how I set mine up.
1) with the bottom vents wide open, light half chimney of briquettes and place it in the coal grate. Replace the middle section and top cooking grate.
2) place 1-2 small splits on the cooking grate to preheat while the coals light up.
D3535B62-7352-47BE-8B5A-85814AA9D138.jpeg