Thoughts on adding more shelves to Masterbuilt? (And where to find the 19.5" x 12.5" shelves?)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wrybread

Original poster
Aug 18, 2021
I have a Masterbuilt Electric Smoker, not sure what model it is exactly. Here's a pic:

1657402464375.png

Any idea what model that is? The shelves are about 12.5" x 19.5". I'd love to put shelves between each existing shelf, so three more shelves. Any thoughts on whether there's any downside to doing that?

And any tips on how to rig them up? It would be nice to still have the ability to have the shelves slide out. I was thinking maybe a couple of wooden dowels as tracks.

And I'm having problems finding this size shelf (12.5" x 19.5"). All the shelves I'm seeing on Amazon and Masterbuilt are the smaller shelves. I don't imagine anyone knows where to find them?

Last edited:
Sounds like a 40 " . The standard one had 4 shelves . The Sportsman Elite had 6 shelves .
If you could find the mounting support for the Elite it will have 6 locations on it .
Yours has the original mounting grid .

I found MES 40 racks on Amazon in a 2 pack .

Reactions: wrybread
Thank you! I ordered the "Hisencn Cooking Grate Replacement Parts for Masterbuilt Electric Smoker 40 Inch, 19.69" x 12.2" Stainless Steel Grids Masterbuilt MB20070115 Smoker grates Replacement, 3 Pack".

I used aluminum angle at the top of my 30 for a place to hang sausage and hams . The sides are thin , but it will hold shear weight . Use a sheet metal screw .

Also , I said above yours has the original mounting grid . Meaning that it's a wire support grid that's removable . The newer models have the slides molded into the sides , fixed in the smoker .