Thinking of building a large cabinet smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

strikerfired

Fire Starter
Original poster
Feb 7, 2016
Looking to build an additional smoker for the backyard. I currently have a Yoder pellet smoker that I've been using frequently for a several years, but at times I find myself needing/wanting more space; looking at smoking 25-50 pounds worth of sausage/snack sticks/jerky. I do really appreciate the temp control that I get with the Yoder/Pellet smoker.

Thinking of building a vertical smoker out of 16ga steel, with 2" thick insulation all around. Current numbers put it at about 5' tall overall, 30" wide, 30" deep. I figure something of this size I could either hang quite a bit of sausage at once, or throw several racks in if I'm doing a larger batch of jerky.

I don't plan on high temps in this smoker, if I need extra heat I can always use my Yoder.

Current thought is a smoke daddy pellet hopper system to give me the control I'm after, however I'm not against building an electric unit if there is a good system that'll run off of 120v (I cannot get 240 where the smoker would go, easily).

I've never built a smoker before. My first unit was a Camp Chef Smoke Vault that worked okay but gave me fits about maintaining a constant temp. After a wind storm threw that and destroyed it, I picked up the Yoder which I have been really happy with.

This would NOT be a replacement for the yoder, just something to augment it for more space.