Setting up a smoke house

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MIMeats

Original poster
Mar 15, 2022
I am new to this, I bought a house that has an old smokehouse out back. The interior space is 6'x10' and 7 or 8' up to the hanging rack. It hasn't been used in quite some time and didn't have any of the "smoke pit" stuff when I bought it. I am looking to clean it out and use it as a smoke house again but don't really know where to start to setup the bottom area. Any help on how to build the smoker in the smoke house would be appreciated.

This is the space I'm working with, obviously I need to clean it out, it kinda turned into a shed, don't judge me for that.

20220315_193105.jpg

• Wow
Reactions: Plinsc and bauchjw
You just need a ring to hold some saw dust at the bottom. Obviously Check the hanging situation as far as racks or dowels. Make sure there is ventilation. Here is my buddies it's a little bigger than yours but close. His is over 100yr old and these are country hams
20190216_181811.jpg
20190216_181759.jpg

Can't be of much help but curious as to what you end up with. Just one thought...depending on how much you plan on doing at one time...maybe build another interior wall to shrink the size of it.

Ryan

I can’t be much help either! Hopefully some others with experience on this are along soon. I did find a book years ago, before I came here, that was a good read and seemed to have a lot of legit designs you can refer to; “Meat Smoking and Smokehouse Design” I just checked and it’s on Amazon.

Wow!
How is it fired?
Friend of mine has a similar sized one on the farm and it is their small one. They fire it for 24 hours to get everything to temp.