Seasoning cut wood

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Laxdfns

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 22, 2019
Hi All-
Newbie here. I have a bunch of maple and cherry wood that I have stacked in my garage to season, but I have a question with expediting the "seasoning"; the wood itself are cut to about 4"-6" chunks, and I know you're supposed to give it months to a year to season ideally.

I have an OKJ hyland smoker. However, the way my firebox is set up I have a rack in the back of the firebox that sits above but behind the burning charcoal/wood area (so above but not directly over it it). I place pieces of wood on that rack prior to placing it on the fire. On average each piece gets about 1.5 or 2 hrs in the firebox before being put on the fire.

Does doing that expedite the seasoning process enough so that even fresher wood could be used in the smoker? Thanks for the insight!

Seasoning wood is just giving it time to give up the moisture inherent in freshly cut wood. It seems the conventional wisdom is that you want to reduce the moisture content to 20% or below. Heating the wood before burning would certainly speed the process up.

If I had a concern with your method, is that I would be afraid the wood you are "seasoning" in your smoker might actually start burning or not get dry enough before you put it on the fire. The downside of this is that you could get creosote buildup in your smoker and it doesn't taste very good on your food.

Reactions: Laxdfns
It usually doesnt burn per se but it has been "blackened" or blistered before. I try to make sure the flames are never that close to the drying wood.