Roasted Chile Dominant Salsa

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jwhsmoke

Original poster
May 10, 2017
DFW, TX
I have been honing my salsa-makin' & cannin' chops for a few years now, and have decided that simpler has turned out not only to be cheaper, but better. Starting out, I would have many different herbs, spices, veggies, trying to make a complex salsa (avocado, tomatillo, tomato paste, lime, cilantro). Now, I won't say those salsas weren't delicious. They were pretty good; however, as the grocery store would run out of certain ingredients, or as I would be weary of taking extra prep-time, I began to include fewer things, and I found that I liked the salsa better. Very surprising to me was that I liked my salsa more without  cilantro, even though I love  cilantro. Adding cilantro certainly doesn't make it taste bad, by any stretch. Here's a side by side of what my ingredients looked like, and what I pretty much use these days as my go to:

vs 

Basically, it's a tomato-light, chile dominant salsa. The chiles used are mostly non-hot but high-flavor chiles. The counts truly different every time I make them. I mostly eyeball amounts. The basis is lots of Anaheims and Poblanos, a few tomatoes, 3-4 garlic cloves, salt, and -if you want heat- many many fresh serranos. 

20 Anaheim peppers

15 Poblano peppers

4-5 tomatoes (I usually use the "Tomatoes on the vine," but above were some Romas)

3-4 cloves of garlic

Salt (desired amount)

Serranos or Jalapenos (desired amount - for the amounts listed, I would probably throw in about 25-30 serranos)

Instructions:

1. Broil the Anaheim and Poblano chilis until charred on each side. Set aside.