Propane kettle conversion for pizza . Building a burner .

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chopsaw

Epic Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Dec 14, 2013
OFallon Mo.
I've been tossing around pizza oven ideas for awhile now . I had some pipe parts from tables I've been building .
So I thought I would build the burner .
I have some experience with gas piping , but I'm thinking I should ask , or show someone that knows about this stuff what I have going .
You know , before I blow something up . Like myself .
Basic idea . 15 inch pizza stone goes in the middle .
I was going to buy a venturi from Tejas , but they are out of stock .
So I made that set up just to see if it would burn .
20210710_131457.jpg
Burner will be let into the side of the kettle , then an opening cut in the lid .
20210711_112511.jpg
3/4 pipe , 1/8 " holes drilled 1/2 " apart .
The hose is from a turkey fryer . Has an adjustable regulator on it .
Says for use with high pressure propane tank , but i need to check the package .
I took it outside and cautiously lit it . So bright I can't see the flame .
I'm not pushing it , had the regulator at about half . I can hear parts of the burner are lit and parts are going out and relighting .
So I finally figured , it's wide open to the air . As long as it doesn't burn back should be ok .
I opened everything up full , tank and max pressure on the reg . Put the kettle lid on at an angle .
Still can't see the flame , buy it's rippin' . That lid gauge pegged left to right in the blink of an eye .
20210711_113322.jpg
I'm sure there is some ratio for the number of holes / size to pressure ,, maybe .
I just figured I better slow down and find out if I'm over looking something .