New to smoking, need help!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Stufat

Original poster
May 27, 2019
UK
Hey everyone.
I'm new to this whole smoking thing so please go easy on me if I sound stupid

I've had a gas aussie style bbq for a few years that I love, but decided recently to step into the world of smoking. I've watched a ton of YouTube videos to try and learn the art and give myself a chance.
Ive bought myself a cheap starter offset smoker to learn on and practice with. It really isn't the best quality as the lids do not close properly letting heat and smoke out, but I'm on the look out for a nicer one that won't break the bank.
I'm using lumpwood, but without adding a log as well I can't get the heat hot enough. I assume this is due to heat escaping.
Only tried using it a few times. First couple of goes where basic pork belly and chicken thighs. Nicely marinated I cooked them in an aluminium tray and all went well.
Had my first disaster yesterday and I could cry
Got myself some lovely short ribs and did the old faithful thighs again.... Except something went badly wrong.
I sat with it the whole time, even when the heavens opened and I got pissed on, so I know the temperature was always between 200 and 230.
Id read the ribs should take about 5 hours, I even spritzed every half hour with half apple cider vinegar and half apple juice.
After 90 mins I put the chicken in as that should take 3 hours ish I'd read.
After 4 hours, I checked the internal temperature of the meats and they were through the roof, the ribs had what looked like a thick crust of charcoal on the outside, like stupidly thick... Ruined, burnt.