My first brisket, What goes wrong?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sepidpooy

Original poster
Feb 23, 2019
I have a masterbuilt electric smoker and today tried to smoke my first brisket (6lbs). The outcome was not juicy at all and very hard to eat. I don't know why it dry out. Would you please help me find out what goes wrong. Here is the steps that I take,

1. purchased a 10lbs brisket last weekend, cut it into two piece of 6lbs and 4lbs and freeze it. We are family of two and 10lbs is too much.
2. in the morning I took the 6lbs piece out of freezer and let it come to room temp by soaking it in the water
3. dried the meat with paper towel and add avocado oil and salt and paper
4. put it into smoker set at 225F at 8am
5. after 4 hour, it hit 175F in the internal temp of its thickest part, then I pull it off and wrap it in aluminum foil.
6. I set the temp to 250F too speed up cooking, noticed that internal temp is going high fast, dialed the temp down back to 225F after half an hour.
7. After 6:5 hour (around 1:30pm) It hit 200F and I took it out of the smoker
8. I let it cool down in the foil for 45min and then started to cut

Here is what I think I need to do next time to prevent the 4lbs brisket dry out:
1. Foil the brisket after 2 hour instead of 4 hour.
2. inject some liquid. Not sure what kind of liquid since I can't use beef broth. Is there any other alternative ?
3. Marinade overnight. Do you have a simple marinade recommendation for 4lbs brisket ?

Not sure if freeze the brisket and unfreeze it by soaking it in the water caused this issue.