Motorized meat mixer recommendations

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wesir

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Nov 28, 2014
Greenwood, IN
I've been using the LEM 20lb version for a few years and am looking to upgrade to one that can be hooked up to a grinder since most the time I'm doing the entire process solo. My MES can probably fit 15-20lb max so I was looking at getting the "improved" LEM 25lb tilt mixer and a #12 grinder to drive it, the one thing that I'm seeing though is that when LEM added their "big bite" technology they removed the reverse option for the motor so the mixer would only be able to spin the paddles in one direction. Anyone know if running it in reverse actually matters or will I be fine without it? If so what are some better options for a tilt mixer at that size range? Thanks

I'm cheap I use a food grade "6" gallon bucket and an S.S. mortar mixer on my drill motor.
You can vary the speed as needed, and I don't have a bunch of money wrapped up in something that I only use once or twice a year, and it does an awesome job!!!:emoji_metal::emoji_thumbsup:

I'm cheap I use a food grade "6" gallon bucket and an S.S. mortar mixer on my drill motor.
You can vary the speed as needed, and I don't have a bunch of money wrapped up in something that I only use once or twice a year, and it does an awesome job!!!:emoji_metal::emoji_thumbsup:
Great idea...Now I'll have to find a SS mortar mixer.

I might have to look into that or if I can somehow adapt my corded drill to drive the mixer and then forward/reverse becomes simple.

Reactions: forktender
I might have to look into that or if I can somehow adapt my corded drill to drive the mixer and then forward/reverse becomes simple.