Looking for a durable, weather-resistant, remote thermometer

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Megacannon

Original poster
Apr 27, 2019
Hi! I had been using an ThermoPro TP-08 for the past two years, but the transmitter died today during my smoke (smoke is still ongoing as of this writing). So, now I need recommendations for a new one.

I suspect the weather was a factor in its demise. I'm in MI and it's currently 32* and raining slush. This is routine for MI and will turn to snow over the next few weeks, but I still need to smoke! So, weather-resistance is a necessity.

Also, I had a lot of problem with my ThermoPro losing connectivity. The transmitter would shut off randomly or stop sending signals. This happened very frequently on anything less than a 100% full battery. So, I need one with a good, strong, wireless signal. I don't know if wifi or bluetooth would be useful to me or be a solution to this problem, so your experiences on this would be appreciated.

I'm looking at the Inkbird IRF-4S or the ThermoWorks Smoke. I only need 2 probes, so more than that is just a bonus. The Smoke X is also tempting because of the huge range, but I'm not sure it's worth the cost.

Let me know what you guys recommend!

Those are both good units. Inkbird gets good reviews and I think are less$$. I have the smoke and the extra gateway for their app. I really like it. Either way, I don't think you can go wrong.

I have seen the Meater Plus discussed from time to time. It would be nice not to have cables to tangle with, but I'm not familiar with those. Maybe someone will chime in about them.