Help a newbie pick out a new smoker!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jharpe06, Dec 1, 2015.

1. jharpe06

jharpe06 Fire Starter

I made the mistake of purchasing a cheap smoker and I will be returning it tomorrow. I would like some advice on what to get to replace it. I am looking to spend about $250 at the most hopefully. I already have a a-maze-n pellet smoker on the way to help with consistent smoke. Should I got with another bargain electric and use the pellet smoker for smoke. Or i was considering a gas smoker but wasnt sure how hard it is to keep the temperature consistent. Keep in mind I am a newbie and I am looking for something that is fairly easy to operate until I get the hang of smoking. Please give your input and advice. Thanks

2. cyclonefan

cyclonefan Fire Starter

Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  3. bmaddox

bmaddox Master of the Pit

What was the "cheap" smoker that you are returning? I hate to say it but you are a few days late on this one as there were some really good deals over the weekend. I would suggest watching the holiday sales and trying to find a deal on a 40" masterbuilt electric. 

4. murrgh

murrgh Fire Starter

Jeff (The site admin/starter) has a really good book on smoking. Within the first 30 or so pages it goes over all smoker types with pros/cons of each. I'd highly recommend picking this up because it makes as a good learning tool and reference for anything you could think of smoking.

EDIT:

Hyperlink isn't working form me... here's the link to the book:

Last edited: Dec 1, 2015
  5. jharpe06

jharpe06 Fire Starter

I bought a Cajun injector electric. Crapped out on me a couple hours into a smoke. At this point I'm kind of leaning toward a masterbuilt gas 2 door smoker. The one that has a seperate door for the water pan and chip tray.

6. bmaddox

bmaddox Master of the Pit