Hello from California!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigbountybbq

Original poster
Sep 1, 2010
Palm Springs, CA
Looks like I jumped the gun and didn't introduce myself! Thanks for all the replies I've gotten on my pork question, everyone seems to have a ton of great info around here. I'm fairly new to smoking and got myself the good ol' ECB to start out. Hope to be taking pics like you guys here pretty soon! Happy Smokin'!

Welcome to SMF glad you decided to join us. You'll find lots of good info and good people here. Have fun and happy smoking

Welcome aboard you will like it here. I have a friend with an ECB and a HUGE smoker on a trailer too. he uses the ECB a lot. I saw a restuarant owner on DDD using one for serving ppork sandwiches daily. Those are good smokers!

Thanks for all the warm welcomes! I love my ECB so far! I've done the fire pan mod already, but really wanna get a stand to hold it so i can tend to the fire a bit more...had a quick question on wood chips/chunks, how many chunks should I be putting in at a time?? I've used chips a few times now and think I have the hang of it, but I wanna try some good size chunks over the weekend. Any tips??

I would try wrapping the chunks in foil and making some holes. Ive made the mistake of tossing them in carelessly and it can cause your fire to become too hot.

PS. It does not take a whole lot of wood to flavor your meats, overdoing it will result in a bitter aftertaste in your food.

Last edited:
Welcome to SMF from Northern Cali.

Welcome to SMF!

This can become a very addicting hobby and has side affects of weight gain , smelling like smoke all the time and spending alot of time

on this web site.