First time summer sausage, need some pointers....

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

KJNDIVER

Original poster
Dec 18, 2020
Lake Charles, La.
Ok, Im not a rookie at making sausage in general, just this is my first time making summer sausage.
Ive got plenty of ground venison put up, got to do something with it right?
I search the web came across many different recipes, used a lil bit of each to tune to how i would like.
After finished stuffing, took the last bits left in the stuffer and put on the george foreman grill and it tasted fine.
But my questions are a part of the stuffing and smoking...
I used the same technique that ive done for regular sausage in hog casing by taking the dry ingredients and putting in a blender, add 2 cups water and blend well.
I started with 10 lbs of coarse ground venison from the freezer. My blended seasoning mix included 2 spoons of cure #1 as per instructions of 1 spoon per 5lbs of meat from sausagemaker.com.
Then i mixed these together with the wet mixture until fingers were frost bit and arms sore. haha
Then i put it all back thru the grinder with the fine plate. The mixture did not seem watery.
After grinding i added the cheese and stuffed with my dakota water stuffer.
Doing this by myself and i thought i was stuffing them full and tight, but i think i might have been getting air in them.
Then as i was trying to reload my stuffer i knocked it off the counter and broke it.
Had to finish stuffing with the grinder and stuffing plate. The auger doesnt like cheese. hahaha
Anyway, everything seemed fine while stuffing, then i placed in the fridge overnight.