First project frig smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jimmyboy1

Original poster
Nov 10, 2013
Norwalk,WI.
 My Name is Jim Cameron (Jimmy). My user name is Jimmyboy1. I live in Norwalk, WI. I am pretty new to smoking meats. I have only done it a couple times. I got my hands on an old frig.

I got some books on smoking meats, I thought I would try it again. I was going to get a 55 gallon drum and build a smoker. So I started surfing the net an found how to build frig smokers, so I thought I will use that old frig.

So I set about turning my old frig into a smoker, first all the plastic on the inside had to go, behind that was this spray foam stuff, it would burn I thought from smoking so out it came. I am glad I did that because I found tubing in the foam on the sides and top once. I got into it so out that came. the freezer part had to go as well, So now where a am is I got all the plastic and tubing and compressor out. I just have a few area to get the foam out. I saved the metal that held in the seal and the racks. I have  stove pipe, A heat source (a two burner hot plate). . I  figured out how I want to set up the inside as far as racks and rods to hang stuff and a drip tray. I was thinking ware the old seal was I would replace it with that seal  you use on ovens and wood burns and add some type of temp gauge. The hard work was getting all the stuff out of the frig like the plastic and that. now I am on the building side of building my smoker. once I am all done and ready to smoke I thought it would be a good idea to paint the outside will that high temp black spray paint or stove paint to make to frig reborn as a smoker look nice and give her a test run.