Brisket help please!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Rokqueen

Original poster
Apr 8, 2023
Hi everyone, long time listener, first time caller.
I have a packer in my master built electric smoker set to 230 deg.
I had to cut it in half to fit. I'm trying Jeff's Wooster recipe he posted the other day, so each half is in an aluminum pan swimming in lovely Worcester beef juice. It was on the smaller side, about 9 pounds total.
So far so good except the IT on the flat shot up quickly and after 6 hours is currently at 205. It's still tough.
The point is at a nice 167 and getting tender. It seems like the point has hit the expected stall but the flat just shot right through it.
Neither of them are wrapped -- I may wrap the point when it gets to 180, but I have time.
The reply from Tallbm on another brisket advice post was very helpful, but I'm starting to panic.
This is not my first brisket but it's the first time I had a runaway temp.
I'm going to keep probing it but I hate to open the smoker that often when my point is doing so well.
The smoker itself is keeping a constant temp around 225, and there's plenty of water in the pan.
It smells amazing but I don't know what to do about this flat. Should I just let it ride and keep checking for tenderness?
Thanks in advance!

That point is basically a tender beefy cloud and the flat is tender enough for me at 212. Pulled the point at 190. Dumped the spent juice, wrapped them in paper and they’re currently resting in a towel cooler nest.
They smell AMAZING.
Thank you everybody.

Attachments

• 533D0565-184B-44C3-86F0-B3B5A9A09E02.jpeg
    533D0565-184B-44C3-86F0-B3B5A9A09E02.jpeg
    249.2 KB · Views: 19