Blow'n Smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Damned Yankee

Original poster
Apr 18, 2022
Hey all, Newbie here.

I'm on my 5th smoke with a 40" MES (no window).

1st Smoke: Chicken gizzards using Oak in the stock chip tray. Total failure - too much smoke and the Oak tasted terrible.
2nd Smoke: 8# Pork Butt using AMNPS and Traeger Hickory pellets. Started before I went to bed. Made two mistakes - set cook temp to high (275) and the AMNPS went out 1/4 through the burn. Next morning lowered temp on MES and used stock tray for Mr Bar-B-Q Hickory chips. Next to Woody's (Nikki's) pork shoulder in Clinton KY, best pulled pork I ever had, but a little dry in some spots.
3rd Smoke: 6-hour Pork Belly. Totally awesome and perfectly done. Had trouble with the AMNPS going out so loaded the stock tray again with Hickory.
4th Smoke: Beef ribs. Added the MES cold Smoker attachment. Used Mr Bar-B-Q chips. Attachment spewed way too much smoke. Was able to regulate it somehow by opening lid on attachment (not the chimney). Ribs were very good.
5th Smoke: Baby back ribs. Windy day today. The attachment put double the smoke out than before. I had installed a rheostat to lower the cold smoker element temp, but with it all the way down, it still puffed like a steam engine - billows of thick white smoke. I went back to the AMNPS and Traeger Hickory pellets but have had to relight it 4 times during the smoke.