bitter taste

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mpishue

Original poster
Mar 9, 2022
I'm new to this, I made a DYI smoker out of wood, the first couple batches of fish and jerky turned out good, but now the things I smoke have a bitter taste. the inside of the smoker is smoke stained and has the same bitter smell. I've tried washing, and even sanding the insides. Has anyone else experienced this?
Thanks
Mike

Welcome to the forum Sir! I’m glad you found us! You may have to be a little more specific with what you’re burning, what you’re burning it in, what kind of wood you made the smoker out of, how the smoke is conveyed into the smoker, and more details on ventilation, etc. Pictures would be ideal. There is a lot of knowledge on smokers here, but they need a little more detail, possibly some safety things to consider as well.

My intuition is that your fire isn’t getting enough oxygen so you’re getting a dirty burn that is creating creosote and is affecting the flavor. Possibly poor ventilation is stifling the burn and keeping bad smoke in?

With a bit more detail youll have a bit more informed answers soon!

Welcome to SMF glad you joined us. It sounds like creosote to me as well. As Jed said more details and pictures if possible will help us get a better idea of what is causing it. Do you have heavy white billowing smoke coming out of the smoker?