What did I do...besides wanting to curse

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kit s

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Sep 2, 2017
Messed up state of California
Ok tried to make some beef sticks.
Got the batch all mixed, stuffed in 19mm collagen casings, put in the old smoker and when temp hit 153 pulled from smoker.
Well the casing shrunk from both ends so now there is about an 1 1/2 " of bare meat on each end.
So what the heck did I do wrong? Over stuff the casings or something else?
Kit

Last edited:
I’m no expert but I always start at 130 with no smoke for the first two hours and then raise it 10 degrees an hour until I reach 170. I’ve never had the casing shrink up. I was told you need to start it low with no smoke years ago by someone and that’s to dry the casing slow.

Smoker

<Chuckles> cut them up after you smoke 'em and allow to rest. I have never used collegen, always sheep but I assume they are about the same.

IMG_8253.JPG

IMG_8264.JPG

IMG_8266.JPG

I’m no expert but I always start at 130 with no smoke for the first two hours and then raise it 10 degrees an hour until I reach 170. I’ve never had the casing shrink up. I was told you need to start it low with no smoke years ago by someone and that’s to dry the casing slow.

Smoker
Hillbilly well gee might try that next time, though didn't think 150 was high. It only took around 1:45 min to have them reach it of 153.

I’ve never had my collagen cases shrink. Hopefully someone else can give you some More ideas as to why this happened. I’m just not sure.

Well foamheart