Smoker shut off during overnight smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

amvet1969

Original poster
Sep 26, 2023
So first I'd like to say this my very first attempt at smoking so please don't be to hard on me. I made a couple mistakes but im still learning.
I started an overnight brisket smoke at 5:30 pm. I set the smoker to 200 and checked it many times throught the evening and went to bed around midnight.
I got up at 5:30 am and it was still going, internal temp was around 160. I decided to give it another hour and a half and check again to see if it was high enough to wrap.
At 7 I checked and the smoker was off, although there were plenty of pellets, they only dropped down in the center and at some point stopped feeding.
I don't know how long it was off, but at max it would only be just over an hour because it was still running at 5:30.
The meat probed then in the 115 to 120 range, I restarted it and bumped the temp up to 275 to get it back up to temp quickly.
Is this still safe?
Also I made 1 big mistake. I inserted a cooking probe into the brisket when I started and I think started probing later with a handheld but I believe it was already in the 140 range at that time.
I'm going to continue to cook since this is my first to see the whole process but I'm unsure if the meat is sage.
Thanks so much.

Also in agreement with others.
A remote read thermometer with high and low alerts is a MUST for overnight cooks.
There are many out there. InkBird and ThermoWorks come to mind.

In this case a probe in the pit with a low alert of 170 would have let you something was wrong with pit temp.

Also, welcome to the group from New Mexico.
Hope you hang around.

Also in agreement with others.