Question from a Beginner

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jessestanley

Original poster
Jun 24, 2011
Florida
This passed weekend, I broke in my new Brinkman Smoker with a Picnic Pork Shoulder. Being a novice, I picked up some Kingsford Charcoal, and some Hickory Wood Chunks. The night before, I rubbed the pork with some barbeque sauce, a little bit of some onions and garlic, and let it sit in the fridge over night. The piece of meat was 6 pounds (Bone In), and I followed the guideline of 1.5 Hours per pound, so it was smokin for about 8.25 - 8.75 hours. The temperature in the smoker was between 170 - 210 degrees.

We were looking for a good piece of Pulled Pork, where it just pulled off the bone and tender.

The pork was cooked throughout and had a great flavor to it. Some parts were tender and some parts were a little "tougher" than we would have liked - not shoe leather tough, but not pulled pork tender. We enjoyed the meat with some barbeque sauce and a side of coleslaw and corn on the cob...it was a successful day of smoking.

Here is my question...What could I have done to make the pork "fall off the bone" tender? Where we could have some amazing pulled pork? Could it have cooked longer? Would the temperature of the smoker made any difference? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.