New member, so many questions-

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

WolfMcCallister

Original poster
Mar 13, 2024
Hi everyone,

I've been smoking meats since 2019 using a single door vertical propane Masterbuilt smoker, and while that smoker is well loved, it's time for a new one. I live in Pennsylvania and I'd like to smoke for as much of the year as I can, so I'd want something that will do fine in like 40 ˚F weather- college football games and Thanksgiving turkey is a must. I don't know if I'd want another propane smoker, but I do know I want something that is well built and will last. I'm taking any/all suggestions and information as I've never used any other smoker.

I think I like the vertical shape; I like to capture the drippings and reuse them. However, the horizontal shape seems more popular, why is that?

Will there be a steep learning curve to an offset smoker?

How do you recommend getting the wood for it?

Does anyone recommend a guide for me to do some research on this stuff?

Edit: I have a deck and am not space limited.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Welcome from Mississippi! I also am a MB gas burner! At least for right now, A member on here is building me a vertical offset. Look forward to more posts and pics.

Jim

Reactions: WolfMcCallister
You will figure the offset pretty quickly and will find quickly that you have upped your game. It learning fire management which takes a couple smokes.