Jeff's Rub was a miss, what next?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

AxxelH

Original poster
Dec 15, 2021
I'm still a beginner, but I've had a number of happy meals using commercial rubs from some Texas favorites (Salt Lick, Rudy's). Typically that's been tri-tip and (a lot fewer) pork ribs. As those commercial bottles run out I've been wanting to try homemade rubs. Since Jeff's Rub gets discussed here so often, that seemed like a place to start.

Last weekend's ribs we done with the (purchased) recipe for Jeff's rub, and cooked using his directions. The results were solid from a cooking perspective, but the flavor profile was not a success. Too little salt, very unbalanced paprika. The feedback was clear, this was not a repeat, and was so far off it was not worth trying to tweak.

I've been allowed the opportunity to try a new experiment this weekend to redeem myself!

However, a lot of the frequently-mentioned alternatives on this forum also seem to be in the same flavor profile. For example, while recipes for "Magic Dust" are all over the place, many seem heavy on paprika relative to salt and other spices. I recognize that Texas rubs have a different flavor profile than traditional pork rubs, but Jeff's "Texas" rub drops the paprika entirely, which seems like moving too far in the other direction.

Is there another well-liked "baseline" pork rub that's starts in a different direction than Jeffs?