I have a question concerning collagen casings

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

shortend

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Apr 7, 2008
Waterloo, IA
I have never used collagen casings before. Do I need to soak them prior to stuffing? What is the generally accepted procedure for using them.

Thanks,

ShortEnd

I never soak them.  I've never really gotten them wet, once stuffed I know they pickup a bit of moisture from the meat but I'd be curious as to how they hold up when immersed in warm water for a while.  I have a couple of short pieces left over I might give it try. 

I use 'em dry. Grease up the tube with shortening or fat.

Alton Brown says "do not allow to get wet at any time" when talking about collagen casings for Italian sausage. 
biggrin.gif

I dont soak them but i did once to get an idea of how they would be. Worked good with no blow out. I soaked them in cold water for 5 mins before stuffing. I think i posted pics here somewhere.

Reactions: grillard
I use them dry. but I only use the small 18 -22 mm sizes for snack stick and breakfast links

the breakfast link ones are so thin that I am sure they would blow out if I soaked them first

Okay another question since the OP is new to them it could help him also.

I have used them many times from different suppliers even, for snack stick I use 19mm I think, and then there are the 30something ones I have used for sausage. I have used them in my cookshack which is a humid smoker, in my gasser, and even in my dehydrator, when doing sticks.

They always turn rubbery, and peel off the product inside, The only time I have ever gotten a good snap to them was right out of the dehydrator, but they soon turned rubbery once vac sealed and refridgerated or frozen.