Best basic electric smoker for DIY PID install

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kilohertz

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Dec 29, 2022
Vernon, BC Canada
Hey gang,

I have decided to add another smoker to my collection, a PID based electric. I have read a lot about the MES models, they seem very popular and well built. I'm an electronics tech so I will be installing my own PID so no need to spend $$$ on ones already PID.

Looking for recommendations for a good well built electric smoker, off the shelf no DIY for the smoker itself. If MES is still the go to, what models, current or past should I watch for? I may end up searching the used market as well. Any other brands as well.

Thanks!

Cheers

Reactions: JC in GB
If the MES 30 is big enough, I would go with the analog version since you're converting to PID anyhow. Analog is going to be cheaper.
Thanks Doug,

Not sure if I would need the 30 or 40" but locally they are $200 difference.

I'll find dimensions and compare.

Thanks

Reactions: DougE
The 30 in analog is going to be cheapest unless you find some killer deal on a 40 digital. Also cruise marketplace and craigslist. You may find a used one for cheap.

The 30 in analog is going to be cheapest unless you find some killer deal on a 40 digital. Also cruise marketplace and craigslist. You may find a used one for cheap.
This one? MB20070210

1686723640697.png