Beef Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wayner79

Original poster
Jan 19, 2017
I have a beef brisket about 2.65lb I got a master built electric smoker I was going to smoke it for about 3 hrs foil and let go another 1 hr and half is that too long a lot of people say the right temp is about 190 to 205 I am open to any suggestions I am new to all of this

I have a beef brisket about 2.65lb I got a master built electric smoker I was going to smoke it for about 3 hrs foil and let go another 1 hr and half is that too long a lot of people say the right temp is about 190 to 205 I am open to any suggestions I am new to all of this
Man.. That's a small piece of brisket.
Your going to have a meat thermometer stuck in it during cooking?
Start checking it at 190 I guess.. toothpick or some small skewer poked in it should go in really easy in a couple places.. I do it right through the foil. You could add in some beef broth to the foil before you seal it up.. couple ounces is all.
Do that after it hits 165 maybe.. .then let it go to 190 and check it.. check again every 5 degrees.. It should be done for sure by 205-207°

Then you can open the foil and let it cool a few minutes.. let some heat out of the foil.. wrap it back up and let it sit in the oven maybe an hour or 2 at the low 170° setting.
Or put it in a cooler with towels under and over it. 2 hours usually people try for.. that keeps it hot to slice in a couple hours not using any heat.. gives it the juice redistribution time.. :cool:

Reactions: wayner79
Thanks for the input guys yes it is a small piece!! It turned out okay it was tough and dry I put it on 225 for about 5 1/2 hours I proved it temp was about 187 i let it smoke for about 3 hours then I foiled it up