A Phosphate by any other name

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DailyLunatic

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2023
Ban Ko Kaeo, Thailand
Would a Phosphate by any other name, smell as sweet?

I’m a still a Newbie, and I’m not in the US. I’ve got a recipe that calls for ‘Cold Phosphate’, and I can’t find anything by that name in my country. ..and no, I'm not gonna drop $40 + Duties to bring 8oz here.

I ‘can’ find products whose translation is ‘Sticky Power’. But where Walton’s calls the chemical in their Cold Phosphate - Sodium Phosphate, the few Sticky Powder brands that actually list ingredients call it sodium PYROphosphate. I'm not a chemist, and do not know the difference.

It’s cheap, 129฿/Kg ($1.69/lb) and describes exactly what Cold Phosphate is supposed to do. (Pardon the bad translation of the Description below) So, close enough, I’ll be using the Sticky Powder, but I like understanding what I’m doing especially when making substitutions to cures

Point is that they really harp that the percentage for Sticky Powder not exceed 0.3%, while Waltons Cold Phosphate calls for a max of 0.50%. (my recipe calls for 0.45%)

My Questions:
Is this the same thing, under a different name?
Is it a different chemical?
Is it the same but stronger, thus the reduced percentage?
…or, (brace yourself), that Thailand has stricter FDA than the US?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

-sterling

❗️ขายดีอันดับ 1 ใน shopee❗️แป้งเหนียว มิกซ์ฟอสเฟต Phosphate Mix 500 กรัม(g)