Wood chunks on a UDS and temp control

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BBQgrasshopper30

Original poster
Jun 27, 2020
So I am new to the UDS and doing my 3rd cook. Currently trying to do some reverse seared skirt steak for some fajitas. Im just going to lay out my process and ask my question at the end. Bare with me.

I filled up my charcoal basket with regular royal oak lump charcoal.

I lit a Full chimney with royal oak lump and 2 tumble weeds and waited about 15 minutes once lit. The charcoal was starting to get white on top and everything underneath was cherry red

Dumped the chimney in the basket evenly on top and threw on one chunk of hickory. I placed the heat diffuser plate on top and the grill grate inside, opened the exhaust wide open and one of the two intakes wide open.

Within a few minutes the temp hit 220 and I closed the intake to about a pinky finger width. At this point there is smoke coming out of the exhaust, looks blue but visible. I wait a good thirty minutes and the temp has worked it’s way back down to 225 and there is no visible smoke. I opened the one intake a finger width and kept the other one closed. After 20 minutes the temp settled at 240, but there is still no visible smoke coming out at all.

currently, I just placed my skirt steak on the UDS and temp holding at 250 with no smoke.

questions:

- did my chunk of hickory already burn up before I put on the meat?

- was my fire going out when the temp was dropping?

-how do I keep that thin blue smoke billowing out of the chunks are already burning up before I get my smoker temp regulated for the cook?

Attachments

• 20616C7F-5A5A-45F9-86CD-86077A378B18.jpeg
    20616C7F-5A5A-45F9-86CD-86077A378B18.jpeg
    97.9 KB · Views: 22