Smokehouse for all your smoking needs?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

robertl

Original poster
Nov 19, 2005
I am new to smoking and new to this forum. To start smoking I figure I need something to smoke in. I like the smokehouse on the main site but I am wondering if I can smoke every thing in that kind of house. I want to start off smoking brisket and hams. It seems that the wood would catch on fire before the meat was cooked.

I know it says right on the site that the shelves can be adjusted to cook anything even brisket, but I have to ask.

Thanks

Robert,

If you are new to the Art of Smoking, I don't know that a true "Smokehouse" would be the way to go. That is actually "Cold Smoking" and is a different bird all together. I would suggest that you learn to "Barbeque" first. Barbequing is cooking low and slow at a temp range of 200 - 250*. I try to keep my Pit at 210 - 225*

When buying a Smoker you need to identify 2 main things: How much can you spend on one, and what are your needs? By that I mean: If price is no object, then the sky's the limit on what's available. Secondly, if you are only planning on cooking for yourself and family, then it doesn't make much sense to buy something that will hold 100 - 200 lbs of meat! I will tell you to purchase a little bit "more" than you think you'll need. If you get bitten by the "Bug", you're going to quickly outgrow a small Cooker and will be kicking yourself for not purchasing a larger model!

I will review with you later on the basic types or you can review them yourself on our "home" page.

Good luck and welcome to our site!

Jeff

RobertL, Welcome to the Best Smoking Meat Forum on the 'Net.