Seeking budget crossbow advice.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

paulgeorge

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 23, 2023
Hello everyone. sorry for off-topic

Does anyone here have recent experience with the current crop of sub-$ $500 crossbows? Sub $400 would be even better, but I am looking for something capable of hunting whitetail deer.

I have zero crossbow experience. I’ve never even held one. I have hunted with a compound bow for about 10 years, but I’m starting to get some worsening shoulder problems.

I was looking at Bass Pro online and saw the PSE Coalition Frontier for $349. According to the specs it will do the job, but will it do it comfortably?

Reactions: JLeonard
I have hunted with a compound bow for about 10 years, but I’m starting to get some worsening shoulder problems.

No help whatsoever on a crossbow, but shoulder surgeries, 4 total, is what drove me away from bowhunting 10 years ago. Really haven't hunted since and do miss it...

Last edited:
No help whatsoever on a compound, but shoulder surgeries blog, 4 total, is what drove me away from bowhunting 10 years ago. Really haven't hunted since and do miss it...
thank you so much for your suggestion

Last edited:
I have also been thinking about getting one. But some are more money than a high end rifle. You pay for size and weight. I also want one that you can decock without firing. Hopefully one in the $4-500 range will work for hunting. Maybe Ishi Ishi indaswamp indaswamp or Buckeyedude Buckeyedude might have some knowledge of cross bows.