New Offset Burning Through Wood

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

beardedgeego

Original poster
Dec 31, 2016
South Arkansas
Back story. Years ago I wanted to smoke a butt. I did it with charcoal on a grill. I did 2 in about 2 years. Wife said I worked too hard and it was too good to only cook once a year. So she bought me an electric smoker. That’s been 5 years ago when I joined this forum. I read more than I post.
3 times in the last 5 years I went to smoke something and my electric smoker was broke down for whatever reason.
Last time was Thanksgiving this year when I put the turkey on.
SO. I studied on this forum, the googler, Tik tok, etc.

Buddy is a welder/fabricator with a pretty big business. Gave me a piece of 30” pipe and let me use his shop to build this behemoth. I also sell steel for a living so I had excellent access to the stuff to finish this thing with the current price of steel.

I used Feldons stuff for firebox/ exhaust size.
It’s 30” OD, 8’ long smoke box. Same diameter, 2’ 8” firebox. 6” OD tube @ 48” on the exhaust. No exhaust dampener. Only intake dampener, which appears to need to be full open for proper temps.

4 thermometers. One closest to firebox is of course too hot. Other 3 are manageable.
My issue is that I’ve tried to keep as close to 225° as possible for 5.5 hours now. I’ve burned 15 sticks of wood. Sticks are about 5” x 5” x 20”.

Would dampening the exhaust help hold temp better? Does this sound like a normal amount of wood?

Attachments

• 8F35AEBD-1EB3-41F8-917A-9A574FE7DA27.jpeg
    8F35AEBD-1EB3-41F8-917A-9A574FE7DA27.jpeg
    174.8 KB · Views: 120
  • 70D16632-3A7A-4310-843E-BCEF59DF8165.jpeg
    70D16632-3A7A-4310-843E-BCEF59DF8165.jpeg
    146.2 KB · Views: 116