!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Olympus

Original poster
Aug 27, 2019
Hey everyone new member here, but not new to smoking. I currently have a Green Mountain pellet grill that I've been using for about 6 years now. It has been a fantastic pellet grill and it has not given me a lick of trouble in whole time I've owned it. I bought it because I was new to smoking at the time and I liked the simplicity and the ease of "set it and forget it". But now that I've got a lot of cook time under my belt, I've been thinking about getting a second smoker to play with and wanted to go with something different.

I'm leaning toward charcoal smoker as the next logical step in terms of learning curve as opposed to a "stick smoker". I have a 4 year old so I don't have just tons of free time to get a stick fire going and babysitting it all day long. I do have more time than just plugging in the pellet grip, setting the temp, and walking away though! :)

That being said, our family is pretty small, just me, my wife, and our 4 year old son. So I don't think I need some huge smoker. Nor do I think my wife would enjoy looking at a huge smoker in the yard all time when I already have a perfectly good pellet grill in the garage. So obviously the Weber Smokey Mountain is what seems to be high on everyone's list of recommendations and that is probably my number one choice also right now. Small footprint, comes with a nice cover, and still seems to be pretty easy to get regulated and running right. I'm consider the 14.5" and the 18.5".