Wood Smoker How To

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

meat hunter

Master of the Pit
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 3, 2009
Have a question on wood smokers. How does one maintain a constant temp when using wood? Im new to this, but it seems to me that one would have to keep a watchful eye and pretty much check on it more often than electric or propane? Am I wrong? Im just thinking as the wood burns down, it puts out less and less heat. I know this is the way to go for the "true smoker" so any input is appreciated.

Hey meat hunter. The answer is, one stick @ a time. HA. There is some truth to that. A rule of thumb here would be 1.5 to 2.5 hours between sticks. The big rigs can go 3 maybe 4 or more witrhout refueling.
Good Luck,

beard

I cook over a wood fire near 98% of the time, I use a good quality starter wood...well seasoned avocado wood. Then I add a good hard dense wood olive in my case, I let it burn down almost to coals and then load again with the dense wood and let go down to a good standing coal bed. I start mine 2 hours before I put anything on the grate, bringing the grate temp above 500* in the first hour. Never checking grate temp in the first 2 hours until about 1.5 hours in....gotta let the coals simmer a bit. There after just adding sticks ...in my cooker a stick on average is misc. chunks from splitting to 12 in. by 2 in. round. The first 2 to 4 hours in my bbq stay pretty stable ...adding wood every 1.5 hours...there after it ends up every hour. My cooker does take a constant eye...but I don't have to sit on it. Hope this helps!