What pellets with what food?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ccw13

Original poster
Mar 22, 2017
I'm waiting on my Yoder YS640 to get here and I need to order some pellets.  I'm new to this and trying to figure out which wood flavors typically go with what.  I've searched, and maybe I'm not using the right terms, but I can't find much information other than if something comments on what type of wood they used during a cook.   So basically I'm asking what woods go with what types of food.  I know some people have different opinions and that should make it more interesting. I've even read where some say it makes no difference with pellets.   I just don't have the money to buy all different types of woods, I'd rather get some information and then decide which I want to try. 

A good basic one I think is an all purpose flavor is oak or hickory. Fruit woods of my choice are pecan (readily available) because it gives off a mild smoke flavor. Apple is unique and is 2nd choice when I can get ahold of it. I use actual wood not pellets but you get the idea

A good basic one I think is an all purpose flavor is oak or hickory. Fruit woods of my choice are pecan (readily available) because it gives off a mild smoke flavor. Apple is unique and is 2nd choice when I can get ahold of it. I use actual wood not pellets but you get the idea
Thank you jake.  That is the kind of info I'm looking for.